

# **San Mateo County LGBTQ Commission**

Saturday, April 15, 2023

College Heights Conference Room (4<sup>th</sup> floor)
Building 10, College of San Mateo, 1700 W Hillsdale Blvd, San Mateo 94402

# Retreat Agenda - In Person

8:25am Commission Business - Call to order Lalo Gonzalez, Co-Chair

- Land Acknowledgement
- Roll Call
- Public Comment
- Approval of Agenda (Action)
- Remarks by BOS President Dave Pine
- Introduction of Retreat Facilitator

Retreat Facilitator Fahad Qurashi will be facilitating the rest of the Agenda.

9:00am	Group Agreements & Expectations
9:15am	Team Building
10:00am	Break
10:10am	Mission, Vision, and Principles
11:00am	Commission Impact Examples
11:15am	Ideation Station
11:45am	LUNCH
12:15pm	SMARTIE Goals
1:15pm	Reflection and Closing
1:30pm	Clean-Up



This meeting of the LGBTQ Commission will be held in-person at 1700 W Hillsdale Blvd, San Mateo, College of San Mateo in the College Heights Conference Room (4<sup>th</sup> floor). Virtual participation in this meeting will not be available. To observe or participate in the meeting, please attend in-person. \*Written public comments may be emailed to tbeat@smcgov.org, and such written comments should indicate the specific agenda item on which you are commenting.

\*Please see instructions for written and spoken public comments at the end of this agenda.

## **ADA Requests**

Individuals who require special assistance or a disability related modification or accommodation to participate in this meeting, or who have a disability and wish to request an alternative format for the meeting, should contact Staff Liaison Tanya Beat as early as possible but no later than 8:00 a.m. on the day before the meeting at 650-363-4467 and/or tbeat@smcgov.org. Notification in advance of the meeting will enable the County to make reasonable arrangements to ensure accessibility to this meeting, the materials related to it, and your ability to comment.

# \*Instructions for Public Comment During Meeting

Members of the public may address the LGBTQ Commission as follows:

### \*Written Comments:

Written public comments may be emailed in advance of the meeting. Please read the following instructions carefully:

- 1. Your written comment should be emailed to tbeat@smcgov.org.
- 2. Your email should include the specific agenda item on which you are commenting or note that your comment concerns an item that is not on the agenda or is on the consent agenda.
- 3. Members of the public are limited to one comment per agenda item.
- 4. The length of the emailed comment should be commensurate with the two minutes customarily allowed for verbal comments, which is approximately 250-300 words.
- 5. If your emailed comment is received by 4:00 p.m. on the day before the meeting, it will be provided to the LGBTQ Commission and made publicly available on the agenda website under the specific item to which your comment pertains. If emailed comments are received after 4:00p.m. on the day before the meeting, the Staff Liaison will make every effort to either (i) provide such emailed comments to the LGBTQ Commission and make such emails publicly available on the agenda website prior to the meeting, or (ii) read such emails during the meeting. Whether such emailed comments are forwarded and posted, or are read during the meeting, they will still be included in the administrative record.

#### \*Spoken Comments

If you wish to make comment, please fill out a speaker's slip located on the materials table at the entrance of the room on the day of the meeting. If you have anything you wish distributed to the LGBTQ Commission and included in the official record, please hand it to the Staff Liaison who will distribute the information to the members.

#### \*Additional Information:

Public records that relate to any item on the open session agenda for a LGBTQ Commission meeting are available for public inspection. Those records that are distributed less than 72 hours prior to the meeting are available for public inspection at the same time they are distributed to all members, or a majority of the members of the LGBTQ Commission.