

November 11, 2020

To:

LAFCo Commissioners

From:

Martha Poyatos, Executive Officer

Subject:

Appointment of Budget and Legislative/Policy Committees for 2021

This staff report requests that the Commission appoint members to serve on the Budget and Legislative/Policy Committees. Both committees typically have three members representing a combination of the types of LAFCo membership: County, City, Special District, and Public.

The Budget Committee provides direction to staff in preparation of the Commission's budget for the 2021-22 fiscal year and will review the independent audit. This Committee meets once prior to the March meeting, once before the May meeting and occasionally prior to the September meeting for recommended budget revisions. The Committee will also be asked to review the Commission's independent audit. The current Committee members are Commissioners Mike O'Neill, Horsley and Draper.

The Legislative/Policy Committee meets as needed to provide direction to staff on pending legislation affecting LAFCos, review existing Commission policies and advise staff on new policies as needed. At times, the Committee may meet to discuss pending legislation and provide direction on a bill that that merits a position letter outside of the regular Commission meeting cycle. In these cases, the Committee takes positions based on the adopted San Mateo LAFCo legislative policies. The current Committee members are Commissioners Lohman, Martin, and Jim O'Neill.

COMMISSIONERS: JOSHUA COSGROVE, CHAIR, SPECIAL DISTRICT - WARREN SLOCUM, VICE CHAIR, COUNTY - RICH GARBARINO, CITY - DON

HORSLEY, COUNTY = MIKE O'NEILL, CITY = RIC LOHMAN, SPECIAL DISTRICT = ANN DRAPER, PUBLIC

ALTERNATES: KATI MARTIN, SPECIAL DISTRICT • HARVEY RARBACK, CITY • JAMES O'NEILL, PUBLIC • DAVE PINE, COUNTY

STAFF: MARTHA POYATOS, EXECUTIVE OFFICER • TIM FOX, LEGAL COUNSEL • ROB BARTOLI, MANAGEMENT

ANALYST ■ ANGELA MONTES, CLERK